Gallery

Mashed Potato

Cooking would be my other passion; it is also a stress reliever for me at times. What I hate most about cooking is measuring the ingredients that I would need. Yes, I am guilty of that; well of course, aside from cleaning my mess afterwards (^^;).  I don’t know the reason but each time I tried to follow a certain measurement for a recipe I always end up messing up with what I’m doing. So, I would like to apologize in advance if there would be some cooking post I will be doing that will not have any corresponding measurements for the ingredients that I have used. But I will try as much as I can to provide for you guys.

Did you know that one of the most well-known vegetable crops in the world would be potatoes? It is a good source of vitamin C, vitamin B6, potassium, magnese, fibres and so on. One of my favourite potato recipes that I love to do is mashed potato with gravy (of course!). But if you’re on a diet you might not want to include butter, milk and of course the GRAVY (T_T). Yep, eating mashed potato without the gravy is really not so appetizing. (I would know since I would cut gravy, butter and milk out whenever I’m on a diet.) Anyways, below is the recipe that I usually do.

Mashed Potato

Ingredients

2 lbs Potatoes peeled and cubed

3 Tbsp Butter, melted

¾ C Fresh milk

3-4 C Water

Salt

Pepper

Cooking Procedure

1.       Peel, cubed and wash potatoes.

2.      In a cooking pot combine potatoes, water and 1 tsp salt. Bring to boil. Cook for about 8-10 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

3.      Turn off heat and drain potatoes.

4.      Transfer potatoes in a large mixing bowl. Add 1 tsp of salt and pepper. Mash potatoes using a wired masher or fork.

5.       Add melted butter then continue to mix.

6.      Gradually add fresh milk. This will help distribute the ingredients evenly.

7.       Serve with gravy.

Gravy

Ingredients

1 pc Chicken cubes

5 TbspAll purpose flour

3 Tbsp Butter

2 ¼ C Water

Salt & Pepper (Optional)

Cooking Procedure

1.       Dissolve chicken cubes in water. This will serve as your chicken broth. Set aside.

2.      Heat saucepan and add butter. Melt butter in low fire. (Butter alone tends to burn fast; it is best to cook it over at low heat.)

3.      Add 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour and cook in low heat for 8-9 minutes or until flour turns medium brown. (It is advisable to cook flour over at low heat as there is a tendency that it will burn when cooked at high heat)

4.      Add remaining flour and continue stirring.

5.       Gradually add the chicken broth while stirring. Continue stirring to avoid lump formation.

6.      Put heat to medium and bring mixture to boil. (You can add salt and pepper according to your taste.) Cook until mixture thickens stirring it once in a while.

7.       Serve hot with mashed potato.

 

 

Leave a Reply

